Subject Specialist
Picture: Leia Casey

Leia Casey
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2180

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Chat with a Librarian
Recent Articles from American Journal of Physical Anthropology

Loading ...

All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete on ProQuest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Delivering over 6,800 journals, nearly 80% of which are in full-text, ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprehensive business database on the market today. Offering much more than journal content, this diverse solution provides the right mix of content types to meet the needs of any business researcher.
Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 41 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes full-text access to more than 680 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Electronic Journals

American Anthropologist Restricted Resource Some full text available
American Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association (AAA). It is known for publishing a wide range of work inanthropology, including articles on cultural, biological and linguistic anthropology and archeology.
American Ethnologist Restricted Resource Some full text available
American Ethnologist is concerned with ethnology in the term’s broadest sense. Articles published in the journal explore connections between ethnographic specificity and theoretical originality, and convey the relevance of the ethnographic imagination to the contemporary world.
American Journal of Physical Anthropology Restricted Resource Some full text available
The American Journal of Physical Anthropology (AJPA) is the official journal of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists. The Journal is published monthly in three quarterly volumes. In addition, two supplements appear on an annual basis, the Yearbook of Physical Anthropology, which publishes major review articles, and the Annual Meeting Issue, containing the Scientific Program of the Annual Meeting of the American Association of Physical Anthropologists and abstracts of posters and podium presentations. The Yearbook of Physical Anthropology has its own editor, appointed by the Association, and is handled independently of the AJPA. As measured by impact factor, the AJPA is among the top journals listed in the anthropology category by the Social Science Citation Index. The reputation of the AJPA as the leading publication in physical anthropology is built on its nearly century-long record of publishing high quality scientific articles in a wide range of topics.
Annual Review of Anthropology Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Annual Review of Anthropology covers significant developments in the subfields of Anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology. (Impact factor: 2.23)
Cultural Anthropology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Cultural Anthropology publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. It is also concerned with theoretical issues, with ethnographic methods and research design in historical perspective, and with ways cultural analysis can address broader public audiences and interests. (Impact factor: 2.95)
Current Anthropology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Current Anthropology is a transnational journal devoted to research on humankind, encompassing the full range of anthropological scholarship on human cultures and on the human and other primate species. Communicating across the subfields, the journal features papers in a wide variety of areas, including social, cultural, and physical anthropology as well as ethnology and ethnohistory, archaeology and prehistory, folklore, and linguistics. (Impact factor: 2.93)
Medical Anthropology Quarterly Restricted Resource Some full text available
International journal for the cultural and social analysis of health of the Society for Medical Anthropology, Medical Anthropology Quarterly is devoted to the publication of research and theory in the field of medical anthropology. (Impact factor: 1.30)

News

Ethnic NewsWatch on ProQuest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. ENW: A History covers the years 1960-1989. This thirty-year period encompasses the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law and the status of migrant workers. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

eBooks

ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.
Springer eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online collection of ebooks in the areas of Behavioral Science and Humanities (2005-2012) and Social Sciences and Law (2005-2011).

Reference Material

BritannicaOnline Restricted Resource
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Print Location: 301 C737 1997 Unrestricted Resource


Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology
Print Location: 305.803 E56 1996 Unrestricted Resource

Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Print Location: 306.03 E56 1997 Unrestricted Resource
Covers social and cultural anthropology and many important areas of overlap between anthropology and related disciplines. This work also covers key terms, ideas and people, thus eliminating the need to refer to other books for specific definitions or biographies. Special features include:
  • Over 230 substantial entries on every major idea, individual and sub-discipline of social and cultural anthropology
  • over 100 international contributors
  • a glossary of more than 600 key terms and ideas.

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Web Sites

American Anthropological Association Unrestricted Resource
 Professional Anthropology Association. 
California Academy of Sciences Unrestricted Resource
Kimball Natural History Museum, San Francisco

Phoebe A. Hearst Museum of Anthropology Unrestricted Resource
University of California, Berkeley
Anthropology Museum 
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Unrestricted Resource
200 open source resources including writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
New Books in Anthropology
Current Articles from Annual Review of Anthropology

Loading ...