Subject Specialist
Picture: Janice Braun

Janice Braun
Library Director and Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2047

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Chat with a Librarian
FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Mills Links
Recent Articles from Print

Loading ...

All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.

Electronic Journals

APHA Newsletter Some full text available
Four times a year APHA produces The APHA Newsletter, which features news of upcoming APHA events, reports of the activities of the national chapters, and other items of interest to printing historians.
Journal of Artists' Books (JAB) Restricted Resource Some full text available
A forum for critical dialogue & review of contemporary & historical artists' books.
Letter Arts Review Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers calligraphic & lettering arts.
Print Restricted Resource Some full text available
Print includes portfolios, profiles, regional design, thematic issues, computer advances, historical perspective and provocative articles in all areas of the field of graphic design for designers, illustrators and photographers worldwide.
Visible Language Restricted Resource Some full text available
The journal for research on the visual media of language expression.

Print Journals

Ampersand
Print Location: Periodicals - 2nd floor
Journal of the Pacific Center for the Books Arts (PCBA).
D.A.
Print Location: Special Collections (Heller Rare Book Room)
A Journal of the Printing Arts (from Canada).
Fine Print
Print Location: Special Collections (Heller Rare Book Room)
A quarterly published from 1970 to 1990 on all aspects of fine printing and book art.
Journal of Artists' Books (JAB)
Print Location: Special Collections (Heller Rare Book Room)
A forum for critical dialogue & review of contemporary & historical artists' books.
Parenthesis
Print Location: Special Collections (Heller Rare Book Room)
The Journal of the Fine Press Book Association.
Printing History
Print Location: Special Collections (Heller Rare Book Room)
The journal of the American Printing History Association.

Abstract & Index Databases

Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Providing users access with over half a century of art literature, Art Index Retrospective includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Coverage includes fine, decorative and commercial arts.
Index to Printing History
This page indexes articles, subjects, authors and reviews published in Printing History, the biannual journal of the American Printing History Association. 

eBooks

ABC for Book Collectors Online

"Like all good reference books, the ABC for Book Collectors conveys much in a little, sets limits to its subject and keeps within them, and - saving grace - treats that subject with individuality as well as authority, in a style at once concise, forthright and witty. It is, in short, a masterpiece, whose merits are acknowledged by the fact that it has never, in forty years, been out of print." (Nicolas Barker in his introduction to the revised edition of the "ABC for Book Collectors", Oak Knoll Press 1995)


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Book
Print Location: Ref. 686.203 G544g 1996
Geoffrey Ashall Glaister. Oak Knoll Press, 1996.
Typography: An Encyclopedic Survey of Type Design and Techniques Throughout History
Print Location: oversize 686.2203 T991 1998
Friedrich Friedl, Nicolaus Ott and Bernard Stein. Black Dog & Leventhal, 1998.

Dictionaries

ABC for Book Collectors
Print Location: 002.075 C323a 2004
John Carter. Oak Knoll; British Library, 2004. See ebooks for an online version.
ABC of Bookbinding: A Unique Glossary with over 700 Illustrations
Print Location: 686.303 G812a 1998
Jane Greenfield. Oak Knoll Press; Lyons Press, 1998.
An A-Z of Type Designers
Print Location: 686.20922 M1678 2006
Neil MacMillan. Yale University Press, 2006.

Images

ARTStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research

Web Sites

Book Arts Web
The Book Arts Web features links to a large selection of book arts related sites on the web, including educational opportunities, professional organizations, tutorials, reference materials, and galleries with images.
Reading: Harvard Views of Readers, Readership, and Reading History
Reading: Harvard Views of Readers, Readership, and Reading History is an online exploration of the intellectual, cultural, and political history of reading as reflected in the historical holdings of the Harvard Libraries. Includes open-access texts and other digitized materials selected and produced by the Harvard University Library.
SHARP (Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing)
The Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing was founded to create a global network for book historians working in a broad range of scholarly disciplines. Research addresses the composition, mediation, reception, survival, and transformation of written communication in material forms including marks on stone, script on parchment, printed books and periodicals, and new media.
New Books in Book Art & History of the Book
Recent Articles from the Journal of Artists Books

Loading ...

Recent Articles from Letter Arts Review

Loading ...