Subject Specialist
Picture: Lawral Wornek

Lawral Wornek
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430- 2029

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
High Impact Journal = High Impact Journal

All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.

Electronic Journals

Dance Chronicle Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Dance Chronicle covers a wide variety of topics, including dance and music, theater, film, literature, painting, and aesthetics. Offering the best from both established dance historians and the new generation of dance scholars, Dance Chronicle is an ideal source for those who love dance, both past and present. 
Dance Research Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Dance Research, the Journal of the Society for Dance Research, is essential reading for those involved in the study and practice of dance.
Dance Research Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Dance Research Journal, published by the Congress on Research in Dance (CORD), carries scholarly articles, book reviews, a list of books and journals received, and reports of scholarly conferences, archives, and other projects of interest to the field.
Journal of Dance And Somatic Practices Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
This journal focuses on the relationship between dance and somatic practices, and the influence of this body of practice on the wider performing arts.
Paj Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
PAJ offers extended coverage of the visual arts (such as video, installations, photography, and multimedia performance), in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera. Issues include artists' writings, critical and historical commentary, interviews, performance texts and plays, reports on performance abroad, and book reviews.
Performance Research Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Performance Research is a peer-reviewed journal making connections between theatre, dance, music, time-based and live art. It explores the unsettled boundaries, rapidly changing practices and shifting definitions at play within the field. Performance Research covers contemporary and historical performance and promotes a cross-disciplinary exchange of ideas, images and analysis.
TDR: The Drama Review Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
TDR: The Drama Review, a peer-reviewed journal, provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic and political contexts. With an emphasis on the experimental, avant-garde, intercultural and interdisciplinary, it covers dance theatre, performance art, popular entertainment, media, sports, rituals and performance in politics and everyday life.

Abstract & Index Databases

Dancemagazine College Guide
Print Location: 378.199 D1725d Unrestricted Resource
"A directory of dance in North American colleges and universities."
Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

News

New York Times 1980-present Restricted Resource Some full text available
Printing "All the News That's Fit to Print," The New York Times bears the reputation of being the United States' unofficial newspaper of record. Comprehensive coverage of national, foreign, business and local news comes from The Times' extensive foreign news network and bureaus around the United States.
New York Times Archive, 1851-2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles and page images from the New York Times (1851-2009)

eBooks

ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.

Archives

Dance Heritage Coalition Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
The DHC is the sole national non-profit alliance of institutions holding significant collections of materials documenting the history of dance. Its mission is to preserve, make accessible, enhance and augment the materials that document the artistic accomplishments in dance of the past, present, and future.
The Dance Oral History Channel of the New York Public Library Unrestricted Resource Resource contains audio
A collection of clips selected from the more than 4,000 audio recordings that make up the Dance Division’s Audio Archive and Oral History Project at the New York Public Library for the Performing Arts.  These diverse recordings document the voices and ideas of more than half a century of performers, choreographers, scholars and producers, working in all areas of dance. The collection includes an interview of Molissa Fenley conducted by Ann Murphy.

Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses @ Mills College Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database gives access to the electronic dissertations and theses produced by students at Mills College.
Mills Theses - Dance Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
Theses submitted by Mills students in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Arts and Master of Fine Arts in Dance.

Video

Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
At Jacob's Pillow Dance Interactive, visitors can view clips of past Pillow performances dating back to the 1930s accompanied by brief information about the performances and artists. Clips are browsable by artist, genre or era.
Jerome Robbins Dance Division Moving Image Archive Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video
The Jerome Robbins Dance Division Moving Image Archive from the New York Public Library is a product of one of the largest dance archives in the world. Though this resource is free, many of the videos must be viewed on-site at the NYPL Library of the Performing Arts. To exclude these videos from search results, select "Exclude Location-Restricted Videos" on the main page.
The George Balanchine Foundation Video Archives Unrestricted Resource Resource contains video

The George Balanchine Foundation Video Archives consists of two collections: the Archive of Lost Choreography and the Interpreters Archive. The Archive of Lost Choreography is dedicated to the retrieval of Balanchine choreography no longer performed and in danger of permanently disappearing. The Interpreters Archive features the creators of important Balanchine roles as they teach and coach the roles with dancers of today.

These DVDs are available for in-house use only and may not leave the library.


Images

ARTStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research

Web Sites

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Unrestricted Resource
200 open source resources including writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
New Books in Dance
Recent Articles in Dance Chronicle

Loading ...

Recent Articles in PAJ

Loading ...