Subject Specialist
Picture: Leia Casey

Leia Casey
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2180

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Chat with a Librarian
Starting Points for Ethnic Studies
Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.
All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.
SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes full-text access to more than 680 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Electronic Journals

American Indian Culture And Research Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
In print since 1971, the American Indian Culture and Research Journal is an internationally renowned multidisciplinary journal designed for scholars and the general public. The premier journal in Native American studies, it publishes book reviews, literature, and original scholarly papers on a wide range of issues in the fields of history, anthropology, geography, sociology, political science, health, literature, law, education, and the arts.
Aztlan Restricted Resource Some full text available
Aztlán presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. An interdisciplinary, refereed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, supplemented by thematic pieces in the dosier section, an artist's communiqué, a review section, and a commentary by the editor. Aztlán seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.
Ethnic And Racial Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ethnic and Racial Studies is the leading international journal for the analysis of race, ethnicity and nationalism throughout the world. The journal provides an interdisciplinary academic forum for the presentation of research and theoretical analysis, drawing on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, economics, geography, international relations, history, social psychology and cultural studies. (Impact factor: 1)
Journal of Asian Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Asian Studies publishes the very best empirical and multidisciplinary work on Asia, spanning the arts, history, literature, the social sciences, and cultural studies. (Impact factor: 0.52)
Journal of Latin American Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in economics, geography, politics, international relations, sociology, social anthropology, economic history and cultural history. (Impact factor: 0.54)
Journal of Latino-latin American Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Latino-latin American Studies is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal housed in the Office of Latino/Latin American Studies at the University of Nebraska at Omaha.
Middle East Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal provides original and objective research and analysis, as well as source material, on the area from Morocco to Pakistan and including Central Asia. The Journal provides the background necessary for an understanding and appreciation of the region's political and economic development, cultural heritage, ethnic and religious diversity. (Impact factor: 0.69)
Middle East Policy Restricted Resource Some full text available
The most influential journal on the Middle East region in the field of foreign policy Middle East Policy has been engaging thoughtful minds for nearly 20 years. Since its inception in mid-1982 the journal has been recognized as a valuable addition to the then-arid policy discussion. Political factors confined original and provocative thinking on the Middle East to the margins of respectable debate. Middle East Policy provided then as it still does today an important forum for a wider range of views on U.S. interests in the region and the value of the policies that were supposed to promote them. (Impact factor: 0.22)
Modern China Restricted Resource Some full text available
Modern China encourages a new interdisciplinary scholarship and dialogue on China's ongoing revolutionary experience. (Impact factor: 0.51)

Abstract & Index Databases

Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

News

Ethnic NewsWatch on ProQuest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. ENW: A History covers the years 1960-1989. This thirty-year period encompasses the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law and the status of migrant workers. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

eBooks

ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.

Reference Material

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Archives

Accessible Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Accessible Archives contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available.
New Books in Ethnic Studies
Recent Articles from Ethnic and Racial Studies

Loading ...