Subject Specialist
Picture: Janice Braun

Janice Braun
Library Director and Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2047

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Chat with a Librarian
Recent Articles from Nineteenth-Century Literature

Loading ...

Starting Points for English


MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.
All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.

Electronic Journals

Communication Theory Restricted Resource Some full text available
Communication Theory is an international forum publishing original research into the theoretical development of communication from across a wide array of disciplines, such as communication studies, sociology, psychology, political science, cultural and gender studies, philosophy, linguistics, and literature. (Impact factor: 1.48)
English Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
English Studies is one of the leading journals in the field. Its large and loyal international readership enjoys articles on the language and literature of the English-speaking world from Old English to the present day.
Essays In Criticism Restricted Resource Some full text available
Essays in Criticism covers the whole field of English Literature from the time of Chaucer to the present day.
Modern Philology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Modern Philology sets the standard for investigations in literary and cultural history, bibliography, and lexicography, as its contributors probe the intricate interrelation between texts and contexts. Articles presenting innovative critical approaches to American, English, and European literature are accompanied by review articles, notes, and documents focused on archival research, and an expanded book review section.
Nineteenth-century Literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
The major journal for publication of new research in its field, Nineteenth-Century Literature reviews annually over 70 volumes of scholarship, criticism, comparative studies, and new editions of nineteenth-century English and American literature.
PMLA : Publications of The Modern Language Association of America Restricted Resource Some full text available
PMLA is the journal of the Modern Language Association of America. Since 1884, PMLA has published members' essays judged to be of interest to scholars and teachers of language and literature.
Profession Restricted Resource Some full text available
Profession is a journal of opinion about and for the modern language profession. The editor selects articles covering a range of topics of professional concern, trying to give a voice to MLA members working in diverse subject areas and situations.
Review of English Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Review of English Studies is the leading scholarly journal in the field of English literature and the English language from the earliest period up to today. Emphasis is on historical scholarship rather than interpretive criticism though fresh evaluation of writers and their work are also offered in the light of newly discovered or existing material.
Science Fiction Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Science Fiction Studies publishes articles and book reviews on science fiction, but also occasionally on fantasy and horror when the topic also covers some aspect of science fiction as well. Known as one of the major academic publications of its type, Science Fiction Studies is considered the most "theoretical" of the academic journals that publish on science fiction.
Victorian Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Victorian Studies is devoted to the study of British culture of the Victorian period. The journal includes interdisciplinary articles on comparative literature, social and political history, and the histories of education, philosophy, fine arts, economics, law, and science and an extensive book review section in each issue.
Womens Review of Books Restricted Resource Some full text available
Women's Review of Books provides a forum for serious, informed discussion of new writing by and about women. Women's Review of Books provides a unique perspective on today's literary landscape and features essays and in-depth reviews of new books by and about women.
Yale Review Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Yale Review is the self-proclaimed oldest literary quarterly in the United States. It is published by Yale University. The Yale Review focuses on American and international politics, economics, and history.

Reference Material

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Bibliographies

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words "past and present" from across the English-speaking world.

Video

BBC Shakespeare Plays on Video Restricted Resource Resource contains video
Featuring some of Britain's most distinguished theatrical talent these films are an ideal choice for libraries, literature classes, and for continuing personal enjoyment.
Global Shakespeares Resource contains video Resource contains audio
According to the project's director, Peter S. Donaldson, The Global Shakespeares Video & Performance Archive is a collaborative project providing online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata by scholars and educators in the field.

Web Sites

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
200 open source resources including writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
Romantic Circles
Romantic Circles is a refereed scholarly website devoted to the study of Romantic-period literature and culture published by the University of Maryland.
SHARP (Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing)
The Society for the History of Authorship, Reading and Publishing was founded to create a global network for book historians working in a broad range of scholarly disciplines. Research addresses the composition, mediation, reception, survival, and transformation of written communication in material forms including marks on stone, script on parchment, printed books and periodicals, and new media.
Voice of the Shuttle (VoS)
A guide to humanities and humanities-related Internet resources that includes primary and secondary sources.
Folger Shakespeare Library
The Folger Shakespeare Library is a research center on Shakespeare and on the early modern age in the West. The website has extensive information on Shakespeare's life, works, and theater ("Discovering Shakespeare") as well as digital texts and a digital image collection.
New Books in Literature
New Books in Fiction
New Books in Poetry
Recent Articles from English Studies

Loading ...