Subject Specialist
Picture: Lawral Wornek

Lawral Wornek
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430- 2029

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
High Impact Journal = High Impact Journal

Recent Articles from Techne

Loading ...

Starting Points for Philosophy
Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
The Philosopher's Index, produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.
SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes full-text access to more than 680 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Electronic Journals

Ethics Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Ethics is an international journal of moral, political, and legal philosophy. It publishes work from disciplines that have a normative dimension, including philosophy, law, economics, and social and political theory. (Impact factor: 0.93)
Philosophical Quarterly Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
The Philosophical Quarterly is one of the most highly regarded and established academic journals in philosophy. In an age of increasing specialism it remains committed to publishing high-quality articles from leading international scholars across the range of philosophical study.
Philosophy of Science Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Philosophy of Science, along with its sponsoring society, The Philosophy of Science Association, is dedicated to the furthering of studies and free discussion from diverse standpoints in the philosophy of science. The journal contains essays, discussion articles, and book reviews. (Impact factor: 0.55)
Social Philosophy & Policy Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Social Philosophy & Policy is an interdisciplinary journal with an emphasis on the philosophical underpinnings of enduring social policy debates. The issues are thematic in format examining a specific area of concern with contributions from scholars in philosophy economics political science and law. (Impact factor: 0.30)
Techné: Research in Philosophy & Technology Restricted Resource Some full text available

Techné: Research in Philosophy and Technology is a peer-reviewed forum that serves the need for sustained philosophical reflection on our technological world. It is devoted to the philosophical analysis of technological systems and to reflections on the art, craft, science and engineering of making things and getting things done in the world. The journal considers the nature and structure of technology as well as its implications for human subjectivity, for the norms and values of societies, and for the ecology of a peopled planet.

 

Abstract & Index Databases

Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Philosopher's Index Restricted Resource
The Philosopher's Index, produced by the Philosopher's Information Center, is a current and comprehensive bibliographic database covering scholarly research in all major fields of philosophy. The Philosopher's Index, considered the most thorough index of journal literature on the subject, features author-written abstracts covering scholarly research published in journals and books, including contributions to anthologies and book reviews.
Religion and Philosophy Collection (EBSCOhost) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journal articles in world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. 300 full text journals, including more than 250 peer-reviewed titles.

eBooks

ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.

Reference Material

Gale eBooks Restricted Resource
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text electronic resources in multiple disciplines. Some of the subjects covered in this collection include arts, literature, business, and science.

Web Sites

Excelsior Online Writing Lab (OWL) Unrestricted Resource
200 open source resources including writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
New Books in Philosophy
Recent Articles from Philosophical Quarterly

Loading ...

5000 MacArthur Blvd, Oakland, CA 94613 510.430.2196 askalib