Subject Specialist
Picture: Lawral Wornek

Lawral Wornek
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2029

Mills Links
Chat with a Librarian
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Starting Points for Psychology
PsycARTICLES on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycARTICLES is a database offering complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.

PsycINFO on EbscoHost Restricted Resource
PsycINFO is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health, making it an ideal discovery and linking tool for scholarly research in a host of disciplines.
All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.
PsycARTICLES on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
PsycARTICLES is a database offering complete access to the full text of more than 80 landmark journals in behavioral science and related fields ranging from education, to nursing, to business, to neuroscience.

Electronic Journals

Annual Review of Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Annual Review of Psychology covers the significant developments in the field of psychology, including: biological bases of behavior, sensation and perception, cognitive processes, animal learning and behavior, human development, psychopathology, clinical and counseling psychology, social psychology, personality, environmental psychology, community psychology, and more. (Impact factor: 15.26)
Basic & Applied Social Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text available
This journal publishes basic research in social psychology that can be applied to "real world" problems as well as direct applications of social psychological theory to social problems. (Impact factor: 0.38)
Child Development Restricted Resource Some full text available
As the flagship journal of the Society for Research in Child Development, Child Development has published articles, essays, reviews, and tutorials on various topics in the field of child development since 1930. Spanning many disciplines, the journal provides the latest research, not only for researchers and theoreticians, but also for child psychiatrists, clinical psychologists, psychiatric social workers, specialists in early childhood education, educational psychologists, special education teachers and other researchers. (Impact factor: 4.72)
Gender Issues Restricted Resource Some full text available
Gender Issues is dedicated to publishing basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women; on similarities and differences in socialization, personality, and behavior; and on the changing aspirations, roles, and statuses of women in industrial, urban societies as well as in developing nations.
Journal of Black Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Journal of Black Psychology publishes scholarly contributions within psychology towards the understanding of the experience and behaviour of Black populations and other populations from an Afrocentric or Black perspective, in such areas as cognition, personality, social behaviour, child development, education and clinical application. (Impact factor: 0.73)
Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Child Psychology and Psychiatry (JCPP) is internationally recognised to be the leading journal covering both child and adolescent psychology and psychiatry. JCPP publishes the highest quality clinically relevant research in psychology, psychiatry and related disciplines. With a large and expanding global readership, its coverage includes studies on epidemiology, diagnosis, psychotherapeutic and psychopharmacological treatments, behaviour, cognition, neuroscience, neurobiology and genetic aspects of childhood disorders.  Articles published include experimental, longitudinal and intervention studies, especially those that advance our understanding of developmental psychopathology and that inform both theory and clinical practice. An important function of the Journal is to bring together empirical research, clinical studies and reviews of high quality that arise from different points of view, different theoretical perspectives and different disciplines.

Journal of Clinical Psychology Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Clinical Psychology is a peer-reviewed forum devoted to research assessment and practice. Published eight times a year the Journal includes research studies; articles on contemporary professional issues single case research; dissertations in brief; notes from the field; and news and notes. (Impact factor: 2.12)
Journal of Health & Social Behavior Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers current research applying sociological concepts and methods to the understanding of health, illness, and medicine. (Impact factor: 2.72)
Journal of Psychosocial Oncology Restricted Resource Some full text available
the Journal of Psychosocial Oncology is the first multidisciplinary journal published specifically for health professionals responsible for the psychosocial needs of cancer patients and their families. This forum provides for the rapid publication of new clinical and research material to help advance clinical and helping skills, as well as exploratory, hypothesis testing, and program evaluation research on such critical areas as the stigma of cancer, employment and personal problems facing cancer patients, patient education, family involvement in patient care, children with cancer, psychosocial needs of cancer patients, hospital and hospice staff, and volunteers. (Impact factor: 0.98)
Journal of Social & Personal Relationships Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Social and Personal Relationships publishes empirical and theoretical papers on social and personal relationships. The journal is multidisciplinary, drawing material from the fields of social psychology, communications, developmental psychology and sociology. (Impact factor: 1.29)
Personality & Social Psychology Bulletin Restricted Resource Some full text available
Personality and Social Psychology Bulletin publishes theoretical articles and empirical reports of research in all areas of personality and social psychology. (Impact factor: 2.22)
Psychological Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Psychological Science the flagship research journal of the American Psychological Society is established as a leader in the field with a citation ranking/impact factor that places it in the top 10 psychology journals worldwide. The journal publishes authoritative articles of interest across all of scientific psychology's subdisciplines including brain and behavior clinical science cognition learning and memory psychology social psychology and developmental psychology. (Impact factor: 4.43)
Social Psychology Quarterly Restricted Resource Some full text available
Social Psychology Quarterly publishes theoretical and empirical papers on the link between the individual and society, including the study of the relations of individuals to one another, as well as to groups, collectivities and institutions. (Impact factor: 1.89)

Abstract & Index Databases

ERIC Unrestricted Resource
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If possible, links to full text in Adobe PDF format are included.
ERIC (from EBSCOhost) Restricted Resource
Access the ERIC database using the EBSCOhost interface.
ERIC provides unlimited access to more than 1.4 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials, with hundreds of new records added multiple times per week. If possible, links to full text in Adobe PDF format are included.
PsycINFO on EbscoHost Restricted Resource
PsycINFO is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health, making it an ideal discovery and linking tool for scholarly research in a host of disciplines.

Reference Material

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Web Sites

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) Unrestricted Resource
200 open source resources including writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
New Books in Psychology
Recent articles form Social Psychology Quarterly

Loading ...

Recent Articles from Journal of Black Psychology

Loading ...

Recent Articles from Annual Review of Psychology

Loading ...