Subject Specialist
Picture: Lawral Wornek

Lawral Wornek
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2029

Chat with a Librarian
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.

Electronic Journals

Journal of Biblical literature Restricted Resource Some full text available
Published for and by the Society of Biblical Literature, this journal includes articles, critical notes, reviews and lists of recently published books on all aspects of Biblical literature.
Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Feminist Studies in Religion, the oldest interdisciplinary, inter-religious feminist academic journal in religious studies, is a channel for the publication of feminist scholarship in religion and a forum for discussion and dialogue among women and men of differing feminist perspectives. The journal has two parents: the academy, in which it is situated, and the feminist movement, from which it draws its nourishment and vision.
Middle East Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal provides original and objective research and analysis, as well as source material, on the area from Morocco to Pakistan and including Central Asia. The Journal provides the background necessary for an understanding and appreciation of the region's political and economic development, cultural heritage, ethnic and religious diversity. (Impact factor: 0.69)
The Journal of Religious Thought Restricted Resource Some full text available
Published by the Howard School of Divinity, The Journal of Religious Thought, seeks to advance knowledge and share the results of scholarship in the field of religion, focusing on issues that variously pertain to ministry of the black church and related aspects of the black religious experience.

Abstract & Index Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

eBooks

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ebrary Academic Complete provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.

Reference Material

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Open Access

University of Maryland Law Journal of Race, Religion, Gender, and Class Some full text available
The University of Maryland Law Journal of Race, Religion, Gender and Class is an open-access journal that provides a forum for academics, judges, and practitioners to engage in a scholarly discussion of legal issues pertaining to race, religion, gender and class. The Journal is dedicated to fostering intellectual discourse on issues at the intersection of public policy and the law, as well as analyzing the effects of law, policy and judicial decision on different religious, racial, ethnic, economic and social groups.

Web Sites

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
200 open source resources including writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
New Books in Religious Studies
Dewey Classification of Religion
220s - Bible
230-280s - Christianity
294.3 - Buddhism
294.5 - Hinduism
294.6 - Sikhism
296 - Judaism
297 - Islam
297.9 - Baha'i Faith
299.514 - Taoism
299.936 - Scientology
299.94 - Modern Paganism, Neopaganism, Wicca

For more information or detail see the Religious Studies (200s) handout, Dewey Religion, or WebDewey 200s.
Recent Articles in Buddhist-Christian Studies

Loading ...

Recent Articles in Modern Judaism

Loading ...