Subject Specialist
Picture: Leia Casey

Leia Casey
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2180

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Chat with a Librarian
Mills Links
Latest Articles from Sociology

Loading ...

Starting Points for Sociology
Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes full-text access to more than 680 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.

Sociological Abstracts on ProQuest Restricted Resource
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Pulled from nearly 2,000 serial publications are abstracts from a variety of sources including journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and conference papers, plus citations to important book reviews related to the social sciences.
All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to law reviews and journals, business and company information, and extensive news coverage, including full-text access to more than 2500 newspapers and wire services. Also includes transcripts from major television and radio networks.
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.
SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes full-text access to more than 680 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Electronic Journals

American Journal of Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Established in 1895 as the first U.S. scholarly journal in its field, American Journal of Sociology remains a leading voice for analysis and research in the social sciences. The journal presents pathbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods. AJS strives to speak to the general sociological reader and is open to sociologically informed contributions from anthropologists, statisticians, economists, educators, historians, and political scientists.
American Sociological Review Restricted Resource Some full text available
The official flagship journal of the American Sociological Society, ASR publishes works of interest to the discipline in general, new theoretical developments, results of research that advance our understanding of fundamental social processes, and important methodological innovations. (Impact factor: 4.42)
Annual Review of Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Annual Review of Sociology covers the significant developments in the field of Sociology. Topics covered in the journal include major theoretical and methodological developments as well as current research in the major subfields. Review chapters typically cover social processes, institutions and culture, organizations, political and economic sociology, stratification, demography, urban sociology, social policy, historical sociology, and major developments in sociology in other regions of the world. (Impact factor: 5.01)
Comparative Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comparative Sociology presents a detailed and scholarly account of studies made in different cultures on a comparative basis. Contributions come from sociologists, anthropologists, political scientists and related social scientists.
Contemporary Sociology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Contemporary Sociology publishes reviews and critical discussions of recent works in sociology and in related disciplines which merit the attention of sociologists. (Impact factor: 0.17)
Journal of Social & Personal Relationships Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Social and Personal Relationships publishes empirical and theoretical papers on social and personal relationships. The journal is multidisciplinary, drawing material from the fields of social psychology, communications, developmental psychology and sociology. (Impact factor: 1.29)
Social Research Restricted Resource Some full text available
Social Research is an international forum for the study of the social sciences. Articles in the journal cover various fields of the social sciences.
Society Restricted Resource Some full text available
Society presents new ideas and research findings from all the social sciences in a readable and useful manner. It is aimed at decision makers and others concerned with trends in modern society. Articles in Society span the social sciences, including sociology, political science, economics, psychology, and anthropology. (Impact factor: 0.26)
Sociology of Education Restricted Resource Some full text available
Sociology of Education provides a forum for studies in the sociology of education and human social development. SOE publishes research that examines how social institutions and individuals' experiences within these institutions affect educational processes and social development. (Impact factor: 1.75)

Abstract & Index Databases

Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
PsycINFO on EbscoHost Restricted Resource
PsycINFO is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health, making it an ideal discovery and linking tool for scholarly research in a host of disciplines.
Sociological Abstracts on ProQuest Restricted Resource
The Sociological Abstracts database abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Pulled from nearly 2,000 serial publications are abstracts from a variety of sources including journal articles, conference papers, books, dissertations, and conference papers, plus citations to important book reviews related to the social sciences.

News

Ethnic NewsWatch on ProQuest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. ENW: A History covers the years 1960-1989. This thirty-year period encompasses the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law and the status of migrant workers. The experiences and contributions of African Americans, Hispanics, Native Peoples, Asian Americans, European Americans, Jewish Americans and Arab Americans illuminate three critical decades in U.S. and world history.

eBooks

ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.
Springer eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online collection of ebooks in the areas of Behavioral Science and Humanities (2005-2012) and Social Sciences and Law (2005-2011).

Reference Material

Country Watch Restricted Resource
CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data through its suite of products to over 4000 clients including public and private sector organizations with overseas operations and global interests.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Statistics/Data Sources

Bureau of Justice Statistics Unrestricted Resource
Data on capital punishment, correctional populations, criminal victimization, domestic violence, drug use, and workplace crime.  They publish the National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS).
Gapminder Unrestricted Resource
Gapminder World provides both interactive charts and graphs of United Nation statistics, including life expectancy and income per capita.  Many are interactive. It contains data on the local, national and global levels about social, economic and environmental conditions. This is product of the United Nations in conjunction with Google using Trenalyzer software.
General Social Survey Unrestricted Resource
The survey "contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest. Many of the core questions have remained unchanged since 1972 to facilitate time-trend studies as well as replication of earlier findings. It has tracked the opinions of Americans over the last four decades."
Poverty Guidelines (US Dept of Health and Human Services) Unrestricted Resource
Data on Poverty Measurement, Poverty Lines, and Their History.
Latest Articles from Cultural Sociology

Loading ...

New Books in Sociology
Latest Articles from American Sociological Review

Loading ...