Subject Specialist
Picture: Lawral Wornek

Lawral Wornek
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2029

Chat with a Librarian
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.

Electronic Journals

American Theatre Restricted Resource Some full text available
Published by the Theatre Communications Group, American Theatre provides articles, commentary, and reviews on all aspects of national theatre.
Comparative Drama Restricted Resource Some full text available
This peer-reviewed journal features thematic issues on the international and interdisciplinary aspects of drama.
Modern Drama Restricted Resource Some full text available
Modern Drama features refereed articles that enhance our understanding of plays in both formal and historical terms, largely treating literature of the past two centuries from diverse geo-political contexts.
Paj Restricted Resource Some full text available
PAJ offers extended coverage of the visual arts (such as video, installations, photography, and multimedia performance), in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera. Issues include artists' writings, critical and historical commentary, interviews, performance texts and plays, reports on performance abroad, and book reviews.
Performance Research Restricted Resource Some full text available
Performance Research is a peer-reviewed journal making connections between theatre, dance, music, time-based and live art. It explores the unsettled boundaries, rapidly changing practices and shifting definitions at play within the field. Performance Research covers contemporary and historical performance and promotes a cross-disciplinary exchange of ideas, images and analysis.
TDR Restricted Resource Some full text available
TDR: The Drama Review, a peer-reviewed journal, provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic and political contexts. With an emphasis on the experimental, avant-garde, intercultural and interdisciplinary, it covers dance theatre, performance art, popular entertainment, media, sports, rituals and performance in politics and everyday life.
Theatre Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. It's broad array of scholarly articles and reviews has earned it an international reputation as one of the most authoritative and useful publications of theatre studies available today.

Abstract & Index Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
This database is a classified listing and subject index of scholarly books and articles on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics which has been compiled by the Modern Language Association of America since 1926. The electronic version includes the Bibliography's entire print run and currently contains more than 2 million records.

News

New York Times 1980-present Restricted Resource Some full text available
Printing "All the News That's Fit to Print," The New York Times bears the reputation of being the United States' unofficial newspaper of record. Comprehensive coverage of national, foreign, business and local news comes from The Times' extensive foreign news network and bureaus around the United States.
New York Times Archive, 1851-2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles and page images from the New York Times (1851-2009)

eBooks

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ebrary Academic Complete provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.

Reference Material

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Web Sites

JSTOR Understanding Shakespeare
Quickly find articles about specific lines in Shakespeare's plays. Pick a play, select a line, and instantly see all JSTOR articles that reference that line.
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
200 open source resources including writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
New Books in Theater Studies
Recent Articles in TDR

Loading ...

Recent Articles in Comparative Drama

Loading ...

Recent Articles from Performance Research

Loading ...