Subject Specialist
Picture: Janice Braun

Janice Braun
Library Director and Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2047

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Chat with a Librarian
Recent Articles from Art History

Loading ...

Starting Points for Arts and Art History
Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Providing users access with over half a century of art literature, Art Index Retrospective includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Coverage includes fine, decorative and commercial arts.

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

ARTStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research
All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Electronic Journals

Art History Restricted Resource Some full text available
The journal Art History provides an international forum for original research relating to all aspects of the historical and theoretical study of painting sculpture architecture design and other areas of visual culture. The journal is committed to the publication of innovative work which extends understanding of the visual within a well-developed interdisciplinary framework and raises significant issues of interest to those working both within the history of art and in related fields.
Journal of Aesthetics And Art Criticism Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Aesthetics and Art Criticism publishes current research articles symposia special issues and timely book reviews in aesthetics and the arts. The term "aesthetics " in this connection is understood to include all studies of the arts and related types of experience from a philosophic scientific or other theoretical standpoint. The "arts" are taken to include not only the traditional forms such as music literature landscape architecture dance painting architecture sculpture and other visual arts but also more recent additions such as photography film earthworks performance and conceptual art the crafts and decorative arts contemporary digital innovations and other cultural practices including work and activities in the field of popular culture. The Journal takes a theoretical and interdisciplinary approach to the arts and aesthetic matters
October Restricted Resource Some full text available
October focuses critical attention on the contemporary arts and their various contexts of interpretation: film, painting, music, photography, performance, sculpture, literature. Examining the interrelationships operating between the arts and their critical and social contexts, October addresses a broad range of readers.
Paj Restricted Resource Some full text available
PAJ offers extended coverage of the visual arts (such as video, installations, photography, and multimedia performance), in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera. Issues include artists' writings, critical and historical commentary, interviews, performance texts and plays, reports on performance abroad, and book reviews.
Womans Art Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Woman's Art Journal represents the interests of women and art worldwide. Articles and reviews cover all areas of women in the visual arts, from antiquity to the present day. Each issue presents current research on a variety of topics, featuring "portraits" of women artists, "issues and insights," and discerning reviews of recent books and exhibition catalogues.

Abstract & Index Databases

Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Providing users access with over half a century of art literature, Art Index Retrospective includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews. Coverage includes fine, decorative and commercial arts.
Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
National Gallery of Art: Collection Database Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Browsable and searchable database of the collection held at the National Gallery of Art.

eBooks

ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.

Reference Material

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, the Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and other Oxford art reference resources.

Archives

Asia Art Archive Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
A non-profit organisation dedicated to documenting the recent history of contemporary art in Asia within an international context.
Mills College Historical Photographs Digital Collection Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
This digital collection consists of 200 items selected from the F.W. Olin Library's photograph collection that depict Mills College's early history. The photographs were selected from the three categories that are represented in the collection: buildings, portraits, and campus life.

Images

ARTStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research
Google Art Project Unrestricted Resource Resource contains images
Explore collections from around the world with thousands of artworks photographed in extremely high resolution.

Web Sites

The Getty Unrestricted Resource
Provides a gateway to information on museum studies. Includes databases under the "Research Institute" such as: Art & Architecture Thesaurus (AAT) and the Union List of Artist Names (ULAN).
New Books in Art
Recent Articles in Art in America

Loading ...