Subject Specialist
Picture: Janice Braun

Janice Braun
Library Director and Special Collections Librarian
Tel: 510-430- 2047

Picture: Lindsey Shively

Lindsey Shively
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430- -2180

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
High Impact Journal = High Impact Journal

Library Copyright Policy
Copyright policy of Mills College Library- all members of the college community must adhere to US copyright law. The information included in this document provides guidelines for Mills community members who wish to reproduce, alter, or perform works that are protected by copyright law.
All Items by Source

Electronic Journals

Computer and Internet Lawyer Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides action-oriented guidance by nationally known computer lawyers to resolve the problems that face manufacturers, developers, distributors, & users of computer, telecommunication & online products & services.
Copyright & New Media Law Restricted Resource Some full text available
Copyright & New Media Law is a trusted source of information, analyses, and news of copyright, privacy, Internet law, and other legal issues critical to the digital world. By making complex issues make sense, Copyright & New Media Law has become the go-to journal for our readers, who include universities & colleges, schools, libraries, authors and other creators, copyright compliance officers, museums, law firms, corporations, non-profits, and more.

eBooks

Copyright Plain & Simple Restricted Resource Some full text available
By Carol Besenjak.
Intellectual Property Law Restricted Resource Some full text available
Overview of copyright and other intellectual property law (patents, trademarks, etc.) by Duncan Spiers.
Music Copyright Law Restricted Resource Some full text available
By David J. Slay and Cheryl Moser.

Handbooks & Guides

Getting Permission: How to License & Clear Copyrighted Materials Online & Off
Print Location: 346.730482 S858g 2004 Unrestricted Resource

Web Sites

Association of Research Libraries Code of Practices in Fair Use Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
The Association of Research Libraries (ARL) presents the Code of Best Practices in Fair Use for Academic and Research Libraries, a clear and easy-to-use statement of fair and reasonable approaches to fair use developed by and for librarians who support academic inquiry and higher education. The Code was developed in partnership with the Center for Social Media and the Washington College of Law at American University.
Copyright Information Center Unrestricted Resource
Comprehensive copyright information from Cornell University.
Creative Commons Unrestricted Resource
Creative Commons is a nonprofit organization that enables the sharing and use of creativity and knowledge through free legal tools. They provide a simple, standardized way to give the public permission to share and use your creative work — on conditions of your choice. 
United States Copyright Office Unrestricted Resource
Here you can search copyright records, access publications, access copyright laws, learn how to register a work, etc.
WATCH: Writers, Artists, and Their Copyright Holders Unrestricted Resource
Searchable database of copyright contacts for writers, artists, and prominent figures in other creative fields.
New Articles from Copyright and New Media Law Newsletter

Loading ...