Subject Specialist
Picture: John Winsor

John Winsor
Systems Librarian and Head of Technical Services
Tel: 510-430- 2066

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files
High Impact Journal = High Impact Journal

FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Recent Articles from Algorithmica

Loading ...

Starting Points for Computer Science
SpringerLink Restricted Resource Some full text available
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer.

Wiley Online Library - Computer Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. The Computer Science collections includes full-text access to 40+ journals.
 
All Items by Source

Training & Professional Development

Data Carpentry Unrestricted Resource
Data Carpentry develops and teaches workshops on the fundamental data skills needed to conduct research. Their mission is to provide researchers high-quality, domain-specific training covering the full lifecycle of data-driven research. Data Carpentry's focus is on the introductory computational skills needed for data management and analysis in all domains of research. Lessons are domain specific, from life and physical sciences to social science and build on the existing knowledge of learners to enable them to quickly apply skills learned to their own research. Initial target audience is learners who have little to no prior computational experience.
note: Free

Full-Text Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete on ProQuest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Delivering over 6,800 journals, nearly 80% of which are in full-text, ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprehensive business database on the market today. Offering much more than journal content, this diverse solution provides the right mix of content types to meet the needs of any business researcher.
Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
OmniFile Full Text Select Restricted Resource Some full text available
This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 3,100 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. This resource is an invaluable support for undergraduate research within and across all core subjects.
SpringerLink Restricted Resource Some full text available
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer.
Wiley Online Library - Computer Science Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library hosts the world's broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. The Computer Science collections includes full-text access to 40+ journals.

Electronic Journals

ACM Computing Surveys Restricted Resource Some full text available
These comprehensive, readable tutorials and survey papers give guided tours through the literature and explain topics to those who seek to learn the basics of areas outside their specialties. The carefully planned and presented introductions in Computing Surveys (CSUR) are also an excellent way for professionals to develop perspectives on, and identify trends in complex technologies. Recent issues have covered image understanding, software reusability, and object and relational database topics.
Algorithmica Restricted Resource Some full text available
Algorithmica is an international journal which publishes theoretical papers on algorithms that address problems arising in practical areas, and experimental papers of general appeal for practical importance or techniques. The development of algorithms is an integral part of computer science. The increasing complexity and scope of computer applications makes the design of efficient algorithms essential. Algorithmica covers algorithms in applied areas such as: VLSI, distributed computing, parallel processing, automated design, robotics, graphics, data base design, software tools, as well as algorithms in fundamental areas such as sorting, searching, data structures, computational geometry, and linear programming.
Annals of Data Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
Annals of Data Science (AODS) is an academic journal focusing on Big Data analytics and applications. It not only promotes how to use interdisciplinary techniques, including statistics, artificial intelligence and optimization, to process Big Data and conduct data mining, but also how to use the knowledge gleaned from Big Data for real-life applications.
Communications of the ACM Restricted Resource Some full text available
ACM's flagship magazine, Communications of the ACM, is the premier chronicler of computing technologies, covering the latest discoveries, innovations, and research that inspire and influence the field. Each month, Communications brings readers in-depth stories of emerging areas of computer science, new trends in IT, and practical research applications. Industry leaders choose Communications to debate technology implications, public policies, engineering challenges, and market trends.
Computer and Internet Lawyer Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides action-oriented guidance by nationally known computer lawyers to resolve the problems that face manufacturers, developers, distributors, & users of computer, telecommunication & online products & services.
Computer Music Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Computer Music Journal is a resource for musicians, composers, scientists, engineers, and computer enthusiasts interested in contemporary and electronic music and computer-generated sound. (Impact factor: 0.71)
Convergence Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Convergence is an international refereed academic journal which addresses the creative, social, political and pedagogical issues raised by the advent of new media technologies
Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
The Journal of Computer-Mediated Communication is a web-based, peer-reviewed scholarly journal. Its focus is social science research on computer-mediated communicationvia the Internet, the World Wide Web, and wireless technologies. Within that general purview, the journalis broadly interdisciplinary, publishing work by scholars in communication, business, education, political science, sociology, media studies, information science, and other disciplines. (Impact factor: 2.17)
Journal of the ACM Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of the ACM (JACM) provides coverage of the most significant work on principles of computer science, broadly construed. The scope of research we cover encompasses contributions of lasting value to any area of computer science. To be accepted, a paper must be judged to be truly outstanding in its field. JACM is interested in work in core computer science and in work at the boundaries, both the boundaries of subdisciplines of computer science and the boundaries between computer science and other fields.
Significance Restricted Resource Some full text available High Impact Journal
Significance is a quarterly magazine for anyone interested in statistics and the analysis and interpretation of data. Its aim is to communicate and demonstrate in an entertaining and thought-provoking way the practical use of statistics in all walks of life and to show how statistics benefit society.

eBooks

Python Data Science Handbook Unrestricted Resource
This website contains the full text of the Python Data Science Handbook by Jake VanderPlas.

Working scientists and data crunchers familiar with reading and writing Python code will find this comprehensive desk reference ideal for tackling day-to-day issues: manipulating, transforming, and cleaning data; visualizing different types of data; and using data to build statistical or machine learning models. Quite simply, this is the must-have reference for scientific computing in Python.

Reference Material

Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Open Access

British Journal of Mathematics & Computer Science Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
British Journal of Mathematics & Computer Science (ISSN: 2231-0851) aims to publish original research articles, review articles and short communications, in all areas of mathematics and computer science. Subject matters cover pure and applied mathematics, mathematical foundations, statistics and game theory, use of mathematics in natural science, engineering, medicine, and the social sciences, theoretical computer science, algorithms and data structures, computer elements and system architecture, programming languages and compilers, concurrent, parallel and distributed systems, telecommunication and networking, software engineering, computer graphics, scientific computing, database management, computational science, artificial Intelligence, human-computer interactions, etc. This is a quality controlled, peer-reviewed, open access INTERNATIONAL journal.
CiteSeerX Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeerx aims to improve the dissemination of scientific literature and to provide improvements in functionality, usability, availability, cost, comprehensiveness, efficiency, and timeliness in the access of scientific and scholarly knowledge.

Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses @ Mills College Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database gives access to the electronic dissertations and theses produced by students at Mills College.
Mills Theses - Interdisciplinary Computer Science Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
This database gives access to the electronic dissertations and theses submitted by Mills students in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of the Arts in Interdisciplinary Computer Science

Statistics/Data Sources

HathiTrust Research Center Unrestricted Resource
The HathiTrust Research Center (HTRC) provides research access to the public domain corpus of the HathiTrust Digital Library. The HTRC is a collaborative research center launched jointly by Indiana University and the University of Illinois, along with the HathiTrust Digital Library, to help meet the technical challenges of dealing with massive amounts of digital text that researchers face by developing cutting-edge software tools and cyber-infrastructure to enable advanced computational access to the growing digital record of human knowledge. The HTRC provides an infrastructure to search, collect, analyze, and visualize the full text of nearly 3 million public domain works and is intended for nonprofit and educational researchers.
New Books in Computer Science
Recent Articles from Theory of Computing Systems

Loading ...