Subject Specialist
Picture: John Winsor

John Winsor
Systems Librarian and Head of Technical Services
Tel: 510-430 2066

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Chat with a Librarian
FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Recent Articles from the Journal of Finance

Loading ...

Starting Points
ABI/INFORM Complete on ProQuest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Delivering over 6,800 journals, nearly 80% of which are in full-text, ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprehensive business database on the market today. Offering much more than journal content, this diverse solution provides the right mix of content types to meet the needs of any business researcher.

Business Source Elite on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This rich collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. Business Source Elite offers full text for nearly 1,000 business publications and contains expanded PDF backfiles for more than 150 titles. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included.

EconLit on ProQuest Restricted Resource
This database is published by the American Economic Association and provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete on ProQuest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Delivering over 6,800 journals, nearly 80% of which are in full-text, ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprehensive business database on the market today. Offering much more than journal content, this diverse solution provides the right mix of content types to meet the needs of any business researcher.
Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Business Source Elite on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Business Source Elite provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management and economics journals. This rich collection also includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, sales, etc. Business Source Elite offers full text for nearly 1,000 business publications and contains expanded PDF backfiles for more than 150 titles. More than 10,100 substantial company profiles from MarketLine are also included.
IDEAS: Unrestricted Resource
IDEAS the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. It indexes over 2,300,000 items of research, including over 2,000,000 that can be downloaded in full text. This site is part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, which includes bibliographic metadata from over 1,900 participating, including all the major publishers and research outlets.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Lexis-Nexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to law reviews and journals, business and company information, and extensive news coverage, including full-text access to more than 2500 newspapers and wire services. Also includes transcripts from major television and radio networks.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.
SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes full-text access to more than 680 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
SpringerLink Restricted Resource Some full text available
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Electronic Journals

Challenge : The Magazine of Economic Affairs Restricted Resource Some full text available
This journal gives its readers the information and analysis on economic issues. Challenge presents, in plain English, studies and analyses of the pressing economic problems that we face today.
Economic Development & Cultural Change Restricted Resource Some full text available
Economic Development & Cultural Change examines the economic and social forces that affectdevelopment and the impact of development on culture. An important resource for professionals interested in development issues as well as for scholars, researchers, and practitioners in economics, sociology, political science, geography, anthropology, demography, and social psychology, and agricultural economics. (Impact factor: 0.98)
Economic Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Economic Journal is a key source for professional economists in higher education, business, government service and the financial sector, and for those who want to keep abreast in current thinking in economics. (Impact factor: 1.95)
Economists Voice Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Economists Voice is concerned about the central issues of the day, from budget balancing to global development, from intellectual property to outsourcing, from health care reform to how to provide old age security
Harvard Business Review Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full Text access to Harvard Business Review articles back to 1985.
Journal of Development Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Development Studies was the first and is one of the best known international journals in the area of economic development and economic history studies.
Journal of Economic History Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Economic History is devoted to the multidisciplinary study of history and economics, and is of interest not only to economic historians but to social and demographic historians, as well as economists in general. The journal has broad coverage, in terms of both methodology and geographic scope. Topics covered include money and banking, trade, manufacturing, technology, transportation, industrial organisation, labour, agriculture, servitude, demography, education, economic growth, and the role of government and regulation. (Impact factor: 1.01)
Journal of Finance Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Finance publishes leading research across all the major fields of financial research. Published six times a year, the journal is the official publication of The American Finance Association, an academic organization devoted to the study and promotion of knowledge about financial economics. (Impact factor: 4.22)
Journal of Law & Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of Law and Economics publishes research on a broad range of topics including the economic analysis of regulation and the behavior of regulated firms, the political economy of legislation and legislative processes, law and finance, corporate finance and governance, and industrial organization. (Impact factor: 0.89)
Labor History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Labor History publishes original research in labor history, studies of specific unions and of the impact of labor problems upon ethnic and minority groups, the nature of work and class life, theories of the labor movement, biographical portraits of important labor figures, comparative studies and analyses of foreign labor movements that shed light on American labor developments, and studies of radical groups or of radical history as they relate to American Labor history. (Impact factor: 0.24)
Quarterly Journal of Economics Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Quarterly Journal of Economics is the oldest professional journal of economics in the English language. Edited at Harvard University's Department of Economics, it covers all aspects of the field. The journal's traditional emphasis on microtheory has been expanded to include both empirical and theoretical macroeconomics. (Impact factor: 5.92)
Review of Economics & Statistics Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Review of Economics and Statistics is a general journal of applied (especially quantitative) economics. Edited at Harvard University's Department of Economics, The Review has published some of the most important articles in empirical economics. (Impact factor: 2.66)

Abstract & Index Databases

EconLit on ProQuest Restricted Resource
This database is published by the American Economic Association and provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature. An expanded version of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) indexes of journals, books and dissertations, EconLit covers both economic theory and application.
Google Scholar Unrestricted Resource
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.

News

Lexis-Nexis Foreign Language News Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to full-text of international news via wires and news source.
Lexis-Nexis Newspapers & Wires Restricted Resource Some full text available
This service provides access to some of the most popular files of LexisNexis with easy, forms-based searching.
New York Times 1980-present Restricted Resource Some full text available
Printing "All the News That's Fit to Print," The New York Times bears the reputation of being the United States' unofficial newspaper of record. Comprehensive coverage of national, foreign, business and local news comes from The Times' extensive foreign news network and bureaus around the United States.
New York Times Archive, 1851-2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles and page images from the New York Times (1851-2009)

eBooks

ProQuest Ebook Central Restricted Resource Some full text available
ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly Ebrary) provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.

Government Information

FRASER: Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research Unrestricted Resource
The Federal Reserve Archival System for Economic Research (FRASER) began as a data preservation and accessibility project of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis in 2004. FRASER’s mission is to safeguard and provide easy access to economic history—particularly the history of the Federal Reserve System. FRASER is both a digital library of economic history and a repository of the institutional history of the Federal Reserve System. As such, FRASER preserves and provides access to economic and banking data and policy documents.

Statistics/Data Sources

FRED: Federal Reserve Economic Data Unrestricted Resource
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) is a database maintained by the Research division of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis that has more than 421,000 economic time series from 81 sources. The data can be viewed in graphical and text form or downloaded for import to a database or spreadsheet, and viewed on mobile devices. They cover banking, business/fiscal, consumer price indexes, employment and population, exchange rates, gross domestic product, interest rates, monetary aggregates, producer price indexes, reserves and monetary base, U.S. trade and international transactions, and U.S. financial data. The time series are compiled by the Federal Reserve and collected from government agencies such as the U.S. Census and the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The economic data published on FRED are widely reported in the media and play a key role in financial markets. FRED is also a gateway to GeoFRED, a data-mapping tool that displays FRED data series in color-coded form on the state, metropolitan statistical areas and county levels.

Newspapers--International

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full Text of Wall Street Journal articles back to 1984.
Recent Articles from The Enonomist

Loading ...

New Books in Economics
Recent Articles from Politics, Philosophy & Economics

Loading ...