Subject Specialist
Picture: Michael Beller

Michael Beller
Head of Reference & Access Services Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2051

Chat with a Librarian
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Recent Articles from The New England Journal of Medicine

Loading ...

All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Alternative Healthwatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Alt HealthWatch focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports.
American Chemical Society Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
The American Chemical Society provides the worldwide scientific community with a comprehensive collection of the most-cited, peer-reviewed journals in the chemical and related sciences. The ACS Publications publishes more than 40 journals
Annual Reviews Restricted Resource Some full text available
Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 41 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
Health Source: Consumer Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
A rich collection of consumer health information. This resource provides access to over 80 full-text consumer health magazines, including American Fitness, Better Nutrition, Harvard Health Letter, Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times, and many others. Also includes the Merriam-Webster's Medical Desk Dictionary
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition Restricted Resource Some full text available
This resource provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Coverage of nursing and allied health is particularly strong, including full text from Issues in Comprehensive Pediatric Nursing, Issues in Mental Health Nursing, Journal of Advanced Nursing, Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychiatric Nursing, Journal of Clinical Nursing, Journal of Community Health Nursing, Journal of Nursing Management, Nursing Ethics, Nursing Forum, Nursing Inquiry, and many more.
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.
SAGE Journals Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes full-text access to more than 680 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine.
Science Direct Restricted Resource Some full text available
ScienceDirect is a leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. There are currently more than 11 million articles/chapters, a content base that is growing at a rate of almost 0.5 million additions per year.
SpringerLink Restricted Resource Some full text available
SpringerLink is an integrated full-text database for journals, books, protocols, eReferences, and book series published by Springer.
Wiley Online Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Wiley Online Library a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals.

Electronic Journals

Children's Health Care Restricted Resource Some full text available
Publishes empirically-based articles addressing theoretical, clinical, programmatic, training, and professional practice issues relevant to the family-centered, developmental, and psychosocial aspects of children's health care. (Impact factor: 0.95)
Journal of Health & Social Behavior Restricted Resource Some full text available
Covers current research applying sociological concepts and methods to the understanding of health, illness, and medicine. (Impact factor: 2.72)
New England Journal of Medicine Restricted Resource Some full text available
One of the world's leading medical journals, the NEJM publishes original research and interpretive articles in major aspects of medicine: its science, its art and practice, and its position in today's society. Each week, The Journal presents major, previously unpublished research results, clinical findings, updates and opinions.
Women & Health Restricted Resource Some full text available
Women & Health contains information that is useful to researchers, policy planners, and all providers of health care for women. The journal covers material involving the physical and psychological well-being of women, the sociocultural factors that lead to health problems, and issues of prevention, early diagnosis and treatment, the limitation of disability, and rehabilitation. (Impact factor: 1.00)

Abstract & Index Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Medline / Pubmed - for researchers
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

eBooks

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ebrary Academic Complete provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.
Springer eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
Online collection of ebooks in the areas of Behavioral Science and Humanities (2005-2012) and Social Sciences and Law (2005-2011).

Reference Material

BritannicaOnline Restricted Resource
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Medline Plus - for consumers Restricted Resource
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words "past and present" from across the English-speaking world.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.

Open Access

Directory of Open Access Journals Some full text available
The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact. The Directory aims to be comprehensive and cover all open access scientific and scholarly journals that use a quality control system to guarantee the content. In short a one stop shop for users to Open Access Journals.
PubMed Central openURL
PMC is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

Web Sites

American Nurses Association
The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the only full-service professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent and state nurses associations and its organizational affiliates. The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
Public Health Genomics
Public Health Genomics, from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).
Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
200 open source resources including writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
US National Library of Medicine
US National Library of Medicine, from the National Institute of Health (NIH).
New Books in Health Science
Recent Articles from Journal of Health & Social Behavior

Loading ...