Subject Specialist
Picture: John Winsor

John Winsor
Systems Librarian and Head of Technical Services
Tel: 510-430 2066

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

Chat with a Librarian
FAQs
There are no FAQs linked for this guide
Mills Links
Recent Articles from the Journal of Women's History

Loading ...

Starting Points for History
Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

ProQuest Research Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
From business and political science to literature and psychology, ProQuest Research Library provides one-stop access to a wide range of popular academic subjects. The database includes more than 5,060 titles (over 3,600 in full text) from 1971 forward.

ProjectMuse History Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
History related journals on Project MUSE, a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content
All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete on ProQuest Restricted Resource Some full text available
Delivering over 6,800 journals, nearly 80% of which are in full-text, ABI/INFORM Complete is the most comprehensive business database on the market today. Offering much more than journal content, this diverse solution provides the right mix of content types to meet the needs of any business researcher.
OmniFile Full Text Select Restricted Resource Some full text available
This full text-only database contains a wealth of essential material for learning and research across the disciplines. Full-text articles are available from approximately 3,100 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed. This resource is an invaluable support for undergraduate research within and across all core subjects.
ProjectMuse History Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
History related journals on Project MUSE, a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content
Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.

Electronic Journals

American Historical Review Restricted Resource Some full text available
The American Historical Review (AHR) is the official publication of the American Historical Association (AHA). AHR has been the journal of record for the historical profession in the United States since 1895—the only journal that brings together scholarship from every major field of historical study.
Comparative Studies In Society And History Restricted Resource Some full text available
Comparative Studies in Society and History is an international forum for new research and interpretation concerning problems of recurrent patterning and change in human societies through time and the contemporary world. CSSH sets up a working alliance among specialists in all branches of the social sciences and humanities as a way of bringing together multidisciplinary research cultural studies and theory especially in anthropology history political science and sociology. (Impact factor: 0.75)
History Restricted Resource Some full text available
First published in 1912 History has been a leader in its field ever since. It ipublishes articles, book reviews and editorial notes.History balances its broad chronological coverage with a wide geographical spread of articles featuring contributions from social political cultural economic and ecclesiastical historians.
History Workshop Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Since its launch in 1976, History Workshop Journal has become one of the world's leading historical journals. Its cutting-edge scholarship, accessible writing, and lively engagement with contemporary concerns continues to win it widespread acclaim from both academic and general audiences. (Impact factor: 0.49)
The International History Review Restricted Resource
The International History Review is the only English-language quarterly devoted entirely to the history of international relations and the history of international thought. Since 1979 the Review has established itself as one of the premier History journals in the world, read and regularly cited by both political scientists and historians. The Review serves as a bridge between historical research and the study of international relations.
Journal of American History Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of American History remains the leading scholarly publication and journal of record in the field of American history and is well known as the major resource for the study, investigation, and teaching of the country's heritage.
Journal of American Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
Sponsored by the British Association for American Studies Journal of AmericanStudies publishes works by scholars from all over the world on American history politics literature institutions economics film popular culture geography sociology and related subjects.

Abstract & Index Databases

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

News

Chronicling America Some full text available Resource contains images
Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages. It is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress. Includes over 800 fulltext digitized newspapers published beteen 1836-1922, and a directory of over 150,000 US newspapers published from 1690-present.
New York Times Archive, 1851-2009 Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles and page images from the New York Times (1851-2009)

eBooks

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ebrary Academic Complete provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.
Japan Before the 17th Century Restricted Resource
Modern Japan: A Historical Survey - Chapter 1
EbscoHost eBooks Restricted Resource Some full text available
The EBSCOhost eBook Collection consists of full-text reference, scholarly, and professional ebooks as well as public domain titles. Library users can view full-text eBooks or download titles from their computer onto most popular electronic devices.

Reference Material

BritannicaOnline Restricted Resource
Includes the Encyclopedia Britannica plus Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted Resource
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.

Archives

Accessible Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available Resource contains images
Accessible Archives contain the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books. Eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records are available.
Pacifica Radio Archives Resource contains audio
Pacifica Radio Archives is one of the oldest and most important audio collections in the world. Chronicling the political, cultural and artistic movements of the second half of the 20th century, Pacifica radio programs include documentaries, performances, discussions, debates, drama, poetry readings, commentaries and radio arts.
The Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
Mills College Historical Photographs Digital Collection Resource contains images
This digital collection consists of 200 items selected from the F.W. Olin Library's photograph collection that depict Mills College's early history. The photographs were selected from the three categories that are represented in the collection: buildings, portraits, and campus life.
The National Museum of American History Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The National Museum of American History collects artifacts of all kinds—from gowns to locomotives - to preserve for the American people an enduring record of their past.

The Museum has more than 3 million artifacts in its collection. Information and photos of selected objects are available in the online collections database. The database is a work-in-progress and new items will be added regularly.
The Smithsonian Institution
The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum and research complex, consisting of 19 museums and galleries, the National Zoological Park and nine research facilities.
The U.S. National Archives and Records Administration Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The National Archives and Records Administration is the nation's record keeper. The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but its major holdings date back to 1775. There are approximately 10 billion pages of textual records; 12 million maps, charts, and architectural and engineering drawings; 25 million still photographs and graphics; 24 million aerial photographs; 300,000 reels of motion picture film; 400,000 video and sound recordings; and 133 terabytes of electronic data.

Images

ARTStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research
Mills College Historical Photographs Digital Collection Resource contains images
This digital collection consists of 200 items selected from the F.W. Olin Library's photograph collection that depict Mills College's early history. The photographs were selected from the three categories that are represented in the collection: buildings, portraits, and campus life.
The Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

Web Sites

Pacifica Radio Archives Resource contains audio
Pacifica Radio Archives is one of the oldest and most important audio collections in the world. Chronicling the political, cultural and artistic movements of the second half of the 20th century, Pacifica radio programs include documentaries, performances, discussions, debates, drama, poetry readings, commentaries and radio arts.
The Library of Congress American Memory
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.
The National Museum of American History Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The National Museum of American History collects artifacts of all kinds—from gowns to locomotives - to preserve for the American people an enduring record of their past.

The Museum has more than 3 million artifacts in its collection. Information and photos of selected objects are available in the online collections database. The database is a work-in-progress and new items will be added regularly.
The Smithsonian Institution
The Smithsonian Institution is the world's largest museum and research complex, consisting of 19 museums and galleries, the National Zoological Park and nine research facilities.
Recent Articles from Studies in History

Loading ...

New Books in History
Recent Articles from History

Loading ...

Recent Articles from the Journal of American History

Loading ...

Current Articles from The International History Review

Loading ...