Subject Specialist
Picture: Lawral Wornek

Lawral Wornek
Reference Librarian
Tel: 510-430 2029

Chat with a Librarian
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Restricted resource
Some full text available = Some full text
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains images = Images
Resource contains video = Video files
Resource contains audio = Audio files

All Items by Source

Full-Text Databases

Academic Search Complete on EbscoHost Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
JSTOR offers high-quality, interdisciplinary content to support scholarship and teaching. The JSTOR digital archive includes more than 1,500 leading academic journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
JSTOR Music Collection Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Music Collection contains the complete back runs of 33 titles dedicated to scholarly research and theory in the field of music. The collection includes journals published in the Netherlands, Croatia, Hungary, Germany, and France.
ProjectMUSE Restricted Resource Some full text available
Project MUSE is a provider of digital humanities and social sciences content. Its electronic journal collections support a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.

Electronic Journals

19th Century Music Restricted Resource Some full text available
19th-Century Music covers all aspects of Western art music between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries.
Journal of New Music Research Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Journal of New Music Research has an interdisciplinary orientation and focuses on disciplines ranging from musicology (music theory, aesthetics, sociology), psychology (from psychoacoustics to cognitive psychology - with emphasis on modelling), information sciences (from sound engineering to artificial intelligence), philosophy (epistemology and methodology) and brain sciences. (Impact factor: 0.48)
Leonardo Restricted Resource Some full text available
Leonardo was founded in 1968 with the goal of becoming an international channel of communication between artists, with emphasis on the writings of artists who use science and developing technologies in their work. Today, Leonardo is the leading international journal for readers interested in the application of contemporary science and technology to the arts and music.
Leonardo Music Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available
Leonardo Music Journal features the latest in music, multimedia art, sound science and technology.
Organised Sound Restricted Resource Some full text available
Organised Sound is an international journal which focuses on the rapidly developing methods and issues arising from the use of technology in music today. It concentrates upon the impact which the application of technology is having upon music in a variety of genres including multimedia performance art sound sculpture and music ranging from popular idioms to experimental electroacoustic composition.
Paj Restricted Resource Some full text available
PAJ offers extended coverage of the visual arts (such as video, installations, photography, and multimedia performance), in addition to reviews of new works in theatre, dance, film, and opera. Issues include artists' writings, critical and historical commentary, interviews, performance texts and plays, reports on performance abroad, and book reviews.
Performance Research Restricted Resource Some full text available
Performance Research is a peer-reviewed journal making connections between theatre, dance, music, time-based and live art. It explores the unsettled boundaries, rapidly changing practices and shifting definitions at play within the field. Performance Research covers contemporary and historical performance and promotes a cross-disciplinary exchange of ideas, images and analysis.

Abstract & Index Databases

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature Restricted Resource Resource contains audio
Historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, music therapy. librarianship, literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics. Covers journals, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, and other types of resources in the field of music. Produced by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musical.

eBooks

ebrary Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ebrary Academic Complete provides access to more than 70,000 e-books from over 500 publishers. Covers a broad group of subject areas including business and economics, computing, education, engineering, history, political science, humanities, area studies, literature, linguistics, law, life sciences, psychology, social work, sociology, religion, classics, and philosophy.

Reference Material

Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource
Oxford Music Online is the access point for Grove Music Online and other Oxford music reference resources.

Encyclopedias

The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Print Location: 780.9 G233
Each volume is accompanied by a compact disc containing musical examples.
The Norton/Grove Concise Encyclopedia of Music
Print Location: 780.3 G883e

Theses & Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses @ Mills College Restricted Resource Some full text available
This database gives access to the electronic dissertations and theses produced by students at Mills College.
Mills Theses - Music Some full text available
This database gives access to the electronic dissertations and theses submitted by Mills students in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the degree of Master of Fine Arts in Music

Images

ARTStor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
The ARTstor Digital Library is a nonprofit resource that provides more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research

Web Sites

Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
200 open source resources including writing and teaching writing, research, grammar and mechanics, and style guides.
New Music Books
Recent Articles from Leonardo Music Journal

Loading ...

Recent Articles from the Journal of New Music Research

Loading ...